Taking a Step in Faith

Faith Step

Are you willing to take the first step even though you have no idea what is next after that? Are you willing to leave everything and follow the Lord, even though you don’t know where that will take you? These two questions are very hard to answer. We want to be able to take that step and say that we would but when that time comes, we get nervous and afraid.

There are many times in our lives when the Lord ask us to take a step out in Faith and we can’t even see past the first step. Think back to different times in your life where you can see the Lord was asking you to do this. Did you take that step?

There has been a couple times in my life that the Lord has asked me to do this but the biggest one was when He gave me my call to be a missionary. I had been to Honduras a couple times already and I was getting ready to leave for my third trip in June 2010. Leading up to that trip I felt the Lord placing missions on my heart and to give my life to being a missionary. I was excited and scared because I couldn’t even see after my next trip let alone after high school and college.

During this time I was being put down for what I was doing by people, even some that I was very close to. I don’t say this for pity but I say it because it is true. This was a hard time for me. Yes I wanted to step out and follow the Lord but I also had people telling what I was doing was wrong and I shouldn’t do it. The night before I left I was wrestling with taking that step in faith. Do I following the Lord and becoming a missionary or do I not because of what people around me are telling me and I don’t even know how I am going to do it.

I prayed to the Lord that night for a long time and asked Him to show me clearly that He wants me to be a missionary. I needed to know what I was doing was right and that I was serving Him in the way that He wanted. The Lord answered my prayer clearly that night and gave me comfort like no other. I surrendered my life to being a missionary for the Lord that night and my life has never been the same.

It was hard to take that step in Faith because I didn’t know what was next and I didn’t know what people would say. To be honest I was scared.

Isaiah 41:10 (NIV) says, “Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God;
I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

We have nothing to fear when taking that step in Faith because the Lord is with us always. God is not going to ask you to step out and Faith and then just leave you there. He will guide you. He will strengthen you. He will help you.

The road has not been easy since that night. There have been many up and downs but I know the Lord has always been right there with me. If you would have told me back in June 2010 everything that the Lord has done in my life these past 4 years I would have never believe you. By taking that one step the Lord has allowed me to go on 10 short term trips, go to college and get a degree in Intercultural studies and Biblical Studies, and be asked to join Hope for Honduras after I graduate. That one step of Faith turned into many steps of Faith but every one of them was worth it to follow the call the Lord has put on my life. I can take no credit for any of my accomplishments. It is only through the Grace and Mercy of God that I am where I am. I praise Him for all He has done and will do in my life.

Will you take that step?

One thought on “Taking a Step in Faith

Leave a comment