His Plan is Far Better Than Ours

gods-wayWhat If God wanted you to do something that you said you would never do? How many times can you think of that you told someone, “Oh I will never do that!” or “I will never become that!” I have learned from personal experience that this is one thing that you shouldn’t do. Someone told me a few years ago that if I wanted to make God laugh I should tell Him my plans. Let me put it this way…If you want to make God laugh tell Him what you will never do. Here’s my story of my “I’ll never do that!” and God saying, “This is the position that I have for you.”

When we are younger and people ask us what we want to be when we grow up usually people pick the profession that their parents are. I always said I wanted to be a teacher and I played school everyday. That was until I got older and saw how much my mom went through. My mom is a Special Education teacher, one of the best if you ask me. My mom works very hard everyday and most weekends. One would say well she only works Monday through Friday but little do they know how much actually goes on behind the scenes. It’s more than just standing in front of a classroom and teaching a simple lesson. There is planning upon planning, grading upon grading, and paper work upon paper work to give their students the best education that they possibly can. I have watched my mom work most nights and weekends for many years, almost my whole life. I never understood why she just kept working and working. I decided I didn’t want to be a teacher after watching her and my sister-in-law work all the time.

So instead of becoming a teacher I became a missionary. I went to school and double majored in Bible and Intercultural studies. After graduation I came on the mission field, just a few months ago. I was so excited to dig into the work that the Lord wanted me to do. I knew that involved children and humanitarian work. But little did I know what He really had in store for me. The second week I was here I was sitting in our office at the mission and the director of the Bilingual school turned and looked at me and said, “Hey, How would you feel about teaching kindergarten?” I immediately asked her to repeat her question. Sitting in shock I just looked at her. Everything I said I wasn’t going to do was now being presented to me. I said, “Um…Maybe…Let me pray about it.” So I did. I prayed diligently. A few days later I went back to her and said, “Yes! I will teach kindergarten.”

Here I sit typing this blog and I have just finished my fifth week of teaching kindergarten. I love it! I honestly do. Yes, it is hard, messy, tiring, and frustrating sometimes BUT it is very rewarding and it gives me joy. I am still learning but I fill like this is what the Lord wants me to do. I finally understand why my mom worked so much now. It was the love that she has for the kids and the passion for teaching/helping her kids succeed. I only understand now because I have become the same way. I want my kids in kindergarten to succeed, to learn English, and to move forward in their education. Even if that means that I take my Saturday to sit down and plan and find activities that will help them understand a concept more. If that also means that I spend week nights thinking of a song that will help them understand their shapes. If this is what it means then that is what I will do. The Lord has called me to teach these kids. He has entrusted me with their education. So I pray that every day that He will use me and that I can give all of myself for His purpose and will. Right now that is teaching English.

Isaiah-6-8-Send-MeNever say Never! Why is this so important? Because we have no idea what our life holds for us. The very thing that we could say no to could be what God wants us to say yes to. It could be the exact thing that He has for our lives. Who are we to tell the Lord, “Nope sorry that’s not good enough,” or “No I wont do that.” As Christians we are called to be like Christ and follow His commands. Do you think when Christ went to the cross he said, “Nope sorry I will not do that. None of them are good enough.” NO! When Jesus was praying in the garden he said, “Father, if You are willing, remove this cup from Me; yet not My will, but Your will.” (Luke 22:42) They Lord didn’t want to die a brutal death on the cross but He was willing to do His Fathers will no matter what that might be. Jesus literally became “Broken bread and poured our wine.” In following Jesus example we should be seeking the Fathers will for our lives and becoming “broken bread and poured our wine.” We should give of ourselves for His Will and Glory. Fully surrender to the Lord and follow Isaiah’s example and say, “Here Am I. Lord send me.” (Isaiah 6:8)

may_raised_handsThe Apostle Paul says, “I die daily.” (1 Corinthians 15:31) Every day we should die to ourselves because “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ who lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” (Galatians 2:20) Every morning when I wake up I pray that during the day I can put myself aside and live only for Him doing His will. I will be honest in saying that I fail at this…a lot. We are all going to fail doing this one time or another…and another. But the important part is that we strive to put Him first everyday of our lives. When we fall of the horse…get back up and start going again. I feel privileged to be able to do His work everyday, even if that is teaching…something I said I would never do.

Will you submit to the Father’s will, no matter what that might be? Will you give all of yourself for His will? Will you be available to become “Broken bread and Poured out wine?”

1456161743273

One thought on “His Plan is Far Better Than Ours

Leave a comment